Alternative Resolutions

1) Dismissals:  If you can show proof that you were either in compliance at the time you received your citation or that you remedied the defect within the allotted time period, you may be eligible to have the following charge against you dismissed:

    • Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No insurance)
    • No Driver’s License
    • Expired Driver’s License
    • Expired Registration
    • Expired Vehicle Inspection
    • Defective Equipment (head/tail/brake/license plate lamps, turn signals, etc.)

 2) Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator’s Training Course:  The Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.0511(q) states: “You may be able to require that this charge be dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course or a motorcycle operator training course.  You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request to take the course.”  You are eligible to take the driving safety course for ticket dismissal if: 

    • You possess a current Texas Driver's License,
    • You have not taken the Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator’s Training Course within the previous twelve (12) months for ticket dismissal, and you are not currently taking the Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator’s Training Course,
    • The violation you received was a “moving violation”,
    • You were not speeding in excess of 24 miles over the posted speed limit,
    • You were not passing a school bus,
    • Your violation was not in a construction zone with worker’s present,
    • You are not the holder of a commercial driver’s license (CDL),

When requesting the Driving Safety Course, you must send or bring in the following on or before your scheduled arraignment date:

    1. your written request, or Application 
    2. your plea of Nolo Contendere (no contest) or Guilty
    3. a payment of $109 or ($134 if your offense was in a school zone)
    4. a photocopy of your valid Texas Driver’s License
    5. a photocopy of your current proof of financial responsibility (insurance)

 You must take a Driving Safety or Motorcycle Training Course approved by the Texas Education Agency

3) Deferred Disposition:  At the Judge’s discretion, in accordance with Article 45.051 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, on a plea of ‘guilty’ or ‘nolo contendere’ (no contest) your sentence may be suspended and the final disposition of the case may deferred.  Upon approval, the judge will require that you comply with certain conditions of the deferral order.  Your compliance with the conditions of the deferral order will result in your case being dismissed and you paying a special expense fee.  Your unsuccessful compliance with the terms of the deferral order will result in you receiving a final conviction and paying a fine.  (Application)

 4)  Other: as granted by the judge presiding over your case.